Certifikačný systém podľa ISO 9712

ISO 9712 was prepared by Technical Committee ISO/TC 135, Non-destructive testing, Subcommittee SC 7, Personnel qualification.

This fourth edition cancels and replaces the third edition (ISO 9712:2005), which has been technically revised.

Changes from the third edition include:

  • — clarification of responsibilities for the certification body, the qualification body, and the examination centre;

  • — redrafting of the clause "training" for clarification and change in the number of required hours;

  • — redrafting of the clause "experience" for clarification;

  • — introduction of "digital certificates";

  • — other minor technical and editorial changes.


Since the effectiveness of any application of non-destructive testing (NDT) depends upon the capabilities of the persons who perform or are responsible for the test, a procedure has been developed to provide a means of evaluating and documenting the competence of personnel whose duties require the appropriate theoretical and practical knowledge of the non-destructive tests they perform, specify, supervise, monitor or evaluate. An added incentive stems from the worldwide comparability of a wide range of industrial applications requiring common non-destructive testing approaches.

When certification of NDT personnel is required in product standards, regulations, codes or specifications, it is important to certify the personnel in accordance with this International Standard. When latitude is provided in the criteria within this International Standard, the certification body has the final decision in determining specific requirements.

When there is no requirement in legislation, in standard or in the order for certification of NDT personnel, it is for employers of such personnel to decide how to assure themselves that they are competent to do the work assignments. Thus, they may employ people who are already certified or they may apply their own expertise so as to assure themselves that their employee has the necessary competence. In this last case, prudent employers would no doubt use this International Standard as a reference document.


This International Standard specifies requirements for principles for the qualification and certification of personnel who perform industrial non-destructive testing (NDT).

The system specified in this International Standard can also apply to other NDT methods or to new techniques within an established NDT method, provided a comprehensive scheme of certification exists and the method or technique is covered by International, regional or national standards or the new NDT method or technique has been demonstrated to be effective to the satisfaction of the certification body.

The certification covers proficiency in one or more of the following methods:

  • a) acoustic emission testing;

  • b) eddy current testing;

  • c) infrared thermographic testing;

  • d) leak testing (hydraulic pressure tests excluded);

  • e) magnetic testing;

  • f) penetrant testing;

  • g) radiographic testing;

  • h) strain gauge testing;

  • i) ultrasonic testing;

  • j) visual testing (direct unaided visual tests and visual tests carried out during the application of another NDT method are excluded).

This is only informative sections of this standard. To view the full content, you will need to purchase the standard in official way.